Skip Navigation

During the Middle School years, students are transitioning from childhood to young adulthood and many developmental changes occur, including physical, emotional, social, intellectual, and spiritual.  Adolescents are able to engage in a higher level of thinking and to think analytically and abstractly.  They are more independent, often egocentric, and are focused on searching for their identity and their place in the world.

At SCS, we provide a learning environment for our middle school students (6th – 8th grades) in which they are challenged to develop these higher level thinking skills and that prepares them for the rigor of high school coursework.  English, reading comprehension, vocabulary and math are emphasized.  Classed include: Algebra I, Honors English, Spanish, Music, PE, and Bible.  Learning goes beyond the classroom with field trips through the National Junior Honor Society, the 8th Grade Washington DC field trip, and through opportunities to take special courses, and participate in unique learning opportunities through our Winterim program.

In an effort to encourage healthy social, emotional, and personal development, middle school students are placed into societies.  Through them, they learn:

  • to work as a team
  • to identify their own strengths and weaknesses
  • how to capitalize on each member’s gifts and talents to achieve common goals
  • the benefits of healthy competition with the other societies

As is true throughout all grades at SCS, middle school students are reminded that all wisdom comes from the Lord (Proverbs 2:6), to evaluate their point of view through the lens of God’s Word as Truth, and that our value and identity come from Christ, not from the opinions of others or from what society deems as valuable.  All these efforts during the critical adolescent years help us work towards achieving our mission to prepare tomorrow’s leaders today to think, live, love and lead for Christ.

Tuesday, December 7
December 7, 2021 | 10:40 AM - 11:35 AM
December 7, 2021 | 03:00 PM - 04:00 PM

5/6 Girls, 5/6 Boys, and 7/8 Boys Basketball Teams

Tuesday, December 14
December 14, 2021 | 01:30 PM - 02:45 PM
Friday, December 17
December 17, 2021

Elementary school dismisses at 11:45 am   
Upper school dismisses at 11:50 am  
NO AFTERCARE

Monday, December 20
December 20, 2021
Tuesday, December 21
December 21, 2021
Wednesday, December 22
December 22, 2021
Thursday, December 23
December 23, 2021
Friday, December 24
December 24, 2021
Saturday, December 25
December 25, 2021
Sunday, December 26
December 26, 2021
Monday, December 27
December 27, 2021
Tuesday, December 28
December 28, 2021
Wednesday, December 29
December 29, 2021
Thursday, December 30
December 30, 2021
Friday, December 31
December 31, 2021